Bitten the bullet

Well I finally did it. I rang my doctor yesterday and asked him what the options are for medication. Naturally I was terrified calling and asking for an emergency appointment but I was looking online and apparently depression is one of the things you’re allowed to use emergency appointments for.

They said they’d get a doctor to ring back and he did about half an hour later. We went through a load of things and asked questions and said “okay, right” far too much. Apart from that he sounded like a lovely bloke. He said I would certainly qualify for medication and that based on the answers I’d given him and my history he’d write out a prescription there and then.

It means I’m now on anti-depressants which isn’t something I wanted to do. I wanted to try and do it with therapy. I started the dosage this morning and I’ve felt shit all day. Not mentally, just physically I feel really sick and dizzy and really really tired. I know it’s only the first day so part of it is probably just that I’m worrying about it all.

I will stick at it though. I’ve been given a months worth of drugs so I’ll go back and see the doctor in 3 weeks for a catch up and see if anything’s changed.

Leave a Reply

