Why is everyone so open about it?

Once upon a time, sex was a taboo subject. Nobody talked about it and it certainly wasn’t in the public eye in magazines or TV shows and yet you can’t watch a programme these days without there being at least one innuendo or suggestive pose. I hate it.

I was watching a programme a few weeks ago that had absolutely nothing to do with the subject, it’s basically a soap opera about a hospital, and there was a scene with two actors that lasted approximately 20 seconds in which they spoke about what underwear they were wearing. Why?! It had absolutely no bearing on the story whatsoever. It didn’t change the course of the programme. You didn’t see them walk off into the distance at the end of the show, it was never mentioned again. But for some reason the writers/producers/directors/whoever decided it would be good to have add that pointless conversation to the programme.

I may be a 21 year old male but I’m not old enough to be watching programmes with those sorts of conversations whilst my parents are sitting right next to me. Some of us genuinely don’t want to hear about the supposedly sordid sex lives of fictional characters, especially not when it has no impact on the storyline!

I’m not daft however. I know they put sly comments in to keep people watching and get people talking but I don’t see why they have to.

After writing that I wanted to post some funny related picture that summed up how annoyed I get but instead I found this… Enjoy.

8dd8f752c9d4596c318d583914600485877f2561f2a113a8a4c84210a44b905f

2 thoughts on “Why is everyone so open about it?

  1. I so know what you mean! I grew up in a pretty conservative household where there was never anything risqué viewed, and now that I’m an adult, it’s so awkward to watch movies with sex in them, both with my parents and alone. I don’t need that. I don’t watch for that.

    Like

  2. Haha, I am against being very open about it. However, I don’t mind speaking about sex scientific or psychological wise; or common issues we face in our sex lives in the society. I believe balancing is the key; don’t be too much open nor too much closed, and considering it as a “taboo”, since it is a normal need just like eating and sleeping. I still hear many- most of the people, gasping whilst hearing the word “sex” or anything regarding genitals.

    Like

Leave a Reply

