Sad times

It’s sad that we’ve got to a stage in civilisation where you can’t offer somebody something for free without them thinking there’s a catch.

I’m a web designer. I designed a website over the weekend for a friends (or what I thought was a friends) new business, and got everything set up and working. I messaged them this afternoon to explain what I had done and that I wanted to give them the website so they at least had somewhere online people could go and see all of their products and stuff.

I don’t think they really understood what I was doing as this person kept saying “what’s the catch?”. Genuinely, there was no catch. I saw they had just started a new facebook page and were asking people to share the page to increase their following and I thought it would be a nice thing to do to get them a really simple website developed.

It’s sad that we can’t give things out for free anymore. Everyone thinks there’s a catch and that they’ll be screwed over at some point, and no amount of promises will make them believe you.

I’m talking myself into a bad mood again.

Au revoir!

Leave a Reply

