Creative block 

I’ve always wanted to write a short story or a collection of them. I wrote a short story, many years ago in middle school, that I really liked. It was about a student who goes to get some exam papers from the exam cupboard and finds all the papers have been set alight and burned and none of the teachers believe him when he says he didn’t do it and so he’s put in detention until he admits it. Then after he does admit it he’s excluded but then the student that really did it finally comes forward and the original student comes back and they all live happily ever after. Anyway, I wrote that just on my own outside of school and I took it in and asked my English teacher to read it and mark it as if it was a proper bit of schoolwork and I got about 98%. 

Ever since that I’ve wanted to write something else. Last year I came up with the idea of writing a TV or stage drama based on a therapists office, focusing on one person who comes in for the first time after finding out he’s dying and the story basically follows his ups and downs of going to see the therapist and how she talks him out of suicide etc. 

Quite… Dark, I know. But the more I thought about it the more I was getting into it and I even managed to plan out the first 10 minutes of dialogue in the TV programme. 

I sat down this afternoon and thought “I know, I’ll try writing a script” and got about 20 lines down and then thought “wow that’s shit” so I gave up. 

Leave a Reply

