Anyone struggling to learn English?

If anyone out there is struggling to learn English, I don’t envy you. It is apparently the hardest language to learn because we have 17 different meanings for the same word. I think it’s the word “so” that has the most number of meanings (7 I think, but feel free to correct me!).

1239653_647013801984280_573765916_n

Someone just posted this picture on Facebook and I love it. I love how complex and detailed the English language is but I guess I’m only excited by it because I’m English and I don’t have to learn it.

The other one I love is how the phrase – “I never said she stole my money” – has 7 different meanings. Don’t believe me? Read the phrase out loud 7 times, and move the emphasis to the next word each time.

I never said she stole my money”

“I never said she stole my money”

“I never said she stole my money”

Etc… etc…

There are loads of examples of the complexities of the language and even us English folk struggle sometimes. In fact, looking through Facebook right now proves just how many Brits can’t spell for shit. Although the upside is that they’ve stopped writing in text speak. I guess it’s a start!

Leave a Reply

