I’m in the mood for travelling again

I got bored with working so I started looking at Canada again. I don’t know why but since I was about 9 or 10 years old I’ve wanted to live in Canada. North Vancouver to be more precise. Or maybe Whistler, in the hills.

So anyway I got looking at pictures of Canada and came across the following image that is from a blog post detailing 6 western Canada road trips. Naturally I now want to do all 6 drives but the one I really want to do is the Icefields Parkway to Banff that snakes its way through the Alberta mountains.

iStock-Icefields-Parkway-Canadian-Rocky-Mountains-630x419

It just looks so incredibly peaceful and I’ve been assured that the roads over there are so much better than those in Britain. This would be my perfect road trip though. Fly into Vancouver, drive up the west coast through Whistler and the mountains, east into Alberta to join the Icefields and then west back towards Vancouver. As I’m writing this I even have Google Maps open and I’m planning the exact route I would use. According to the route planner it’s roughly 2,900km (1800 miles) and would take 33 hours non-stop. So you could take 10 days and do 160-200 miles a day stopping off at all the cool places that I’ve yet to research.

Well I’m free this summer. How many tickets do I need to book?

 

Image taken from Travel & Escape Canada – see website

Leave a Reply

